#Oil Cleansing Method · Carrier Oils · Experiments · Natural Skin-Care

Cleanse your skin – Simple and Natural

What is the Oil Cleansing Method???

The basic concept of oil cleansing is to use a combination of oils to cleanse the skin and naturally balance the skin’s natural oils.

When I started researching about this type of natural cleansing, I found this website article posted on one of the blogs that I was reading and for me the information gave me a better understanding of how the oil cleansing method works.  This is the article by acne.orgFact: Oil dissolves oil. One of the most basic principles of chemistry is that “like dissolves like.” The best way to dissolve a non-polar solvent like sebum/oil, is by using another non-polar solvent similar in composition: Other oils. By using the right oils, you can cleanse your pores of dirt and bacteria naturally, gently and effectively, while replacing the dirty oil with beneficial ones extracted from natural botanicals, vegetables and fruit that heal, protect and nourish your skin. When done properly and consistently, the OCM can clear the skin from issues like oily skin, dry skin, sensitive skin, blackheads, whiteheads and other problems caused by mild to moderate acne–while leaving your skin healthy, balanced and properly moisturized.

My Story…..

It works….and beautifully I might add, BUT only after trial-and-error.  My skin is the textbook example of a combination skin type.  The left side of my face had (notice I said “had”) large pores and my right side very normal.  I now have overall skin texture.  Large pores gone….yes!!!!!  I think this is where the “like dissolves like” but also the right combination of oils fell into place.

How Does the OCM Work???

Simply you are getting rid of the dirty oil from your face and replacing it with clean nourishing oils.

This is a good thing……When you strip your skin of its own natural sebum and there is no balance (linoleic and oleic), your skin will try to create more sebum, which is what leads to clogged pores, etc.

Pros and Cons of OCM…..

Pros: 

  • It is completely natural – It doesn’t strip your skin of its natural oils.
  • It is fantastic for your skin – It can help with certain skin conditions and helps with skin dryness.
  • No harsh chemicals.
  • Easily removes make-up.
  • It is an easy treatment method.

Cons: 

  • It may take a week or so for your skin to adjust (it took me about a week). Think of it as a “detox” for your skin.

Now to finish my story……

Personally, this is all I use now to cleanse my face – It just works for me.  My skin looks healthy (I am not going to use the word “glowing” because I think that word is totally overused).  The very best part of using the OCM????  I just love being able to leave the house without face makeup on and feeling comfortable doing it!!!

 

Leave a Reply

